Forgot Password       

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
If you have a question about The Cycle Diet, post them here. Registered users only.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Cycle Diet and breast feeding

Cycle Diet and breast feeding 19 Aug 2009 08:25 #3938

• jennymadrid
  • jennymadrid's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
As you know, Debra, I'm new to the cycle diet.  Lots of questions keep popping into my head but most of them are answered either on your website or on this support board.  I would like specific advice , however, on the question of breast feeding.  I have an eighteen month old baby whom I still breast feed and I wondered whether this makes any difference to how I follow the diet.

Thanks!

Cycle Diet and breast feeding 19 Aug 2009 15:08 #3939

• jennymadrid
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
Ooh Okay, yes this is a good question. But first let me ask you a question.

Q-Is your child colicky with lots of gas, smelly dippers? (more smelly than normal)

If the answer is yes, then as you drop the dairy or wheat from your diet you may see a change in your baby's health, happiness and reactions. The IgA antibodies against gluten (wheat, rye, barley) and casein (dairy) do pass through into breast milk. IgG and IgM are also present in breast milk but the main thing is if you're passing an antibody to casein (cow's milk) or gliadin (wheat protein) than your baby will be colicky..a very unhappy baby.  

Now after saying this, it's a very good idea to be tested for these antibodies as well prior to dropping wheat and dairy from your diet. 

The original Cycle Diet is balanced for all women 18-55 so increased nutrients from whole fruits and vegetables along with a good balance of Essential fatty acids, calcium makes for a very good diet postnatal. Are you still on a prenatal vitamin, sometimes peds recommend staying on it while breast feeding.