I don't know if any of you have ever noticed, many so called vegetarian cheeses actually add casein protein to their rice or soy cheese. Well- finally
Foods has come up with a Vegan Dairy-free, Soy Free cheese. Okay I haven't yet tasted it for myself....but I hear good things about it. It comes in 3 flavors Pepper Jack, American and cheddar. You'll need to look for it in the health section of your grocery store or health food stores.
It's called RICE VEGAN look for it if you're 100% dairy free. I'll let you know if I like it after I find it.
Finally a Casein Free Rice Cheese
03 Oct 2010 10:40 #8993
Be careful to read the ingredient list on all vegetarian cheeses.
If it declares Lactose-free it may contain casein. If you have a dairy allergy or a casein sensitivity make sure your dairy-free cheese is dairy free. Look for the term VEGAN on the label, which should mean no dairy at all.