Forgot Password       
×

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
There are some great new GF and DF products and resources available to those living the GF and or dairy-free lifestyle. Registered members only.
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Quick Start Casein-Free Diet

Quick Start Casein-Free Diet 07 Jul 2008 15:38 #970

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129
For those of you who are also avoiding dairy and casein (the major protein in dairy) here's a quick start list for hidden and obvious sources of casein. From Livngwithout magazine:

Scroll down for a more complete list of dairy containing foods, products:


Foods that contain Casein:

Milk, cream, half and half, yogurt, sour cream, cheese, butter, sherbet, white or milk chocolate, ice cream, creamed soups and vegetables, soup bases, puddings, custard, whey.

Avoid foods derived from goat and sheep milk as well as cow dairy products.

Food that may contain casein

Margarine, tuna fish, dairy-free cheese (most brands) cosmetics, medicine, lactic acid, semi-sweet chocolate, hot dogs, lunch meats, sausage, ghee.

Dairy free may contain casein

Many non-dairy foods contain casein proteins. Avoid foods that contain any ingredient with casein or caseinate.

Casein-Free alternatives

Rice, Soy or potato-based milks, Pareve Creams and creamers, Mocha mix, Tofutti brands better than cream cheese, Tofutti brands sour supreme, Sorbet, Italian ices, Soy Ice Cream (not all flavors), Ghee (if guaranteed casein free), Soymage Cheese, Tofutti brand non-dairy or pareve are free of dairy, Coconut butter, Coconut milk, Imagine brand soups

Kosher is good

Kosher pareve foods are casein free. Foods certified as kosher non-dairy or pareve are free of dairy proteins.

 

Quick Start Casein-Free Diet 17 Oct 2008 18:45 #972

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129

What are the hidden dairy terms to look for? I know that items made with Whey are not dairy free. Are there other terms to keep an eye out for?


I have another list around here somewhere, but here's a very good one for those wanting to avoid ALL dairy (anyone with an IgE allergy will need to be very careful for hidden dairy/casein/whey) By law all food manufactures MUST declare all dairy and derivatives on the food ingredient list. Dairy is one of the top 8 allergies.

DEFINITELY DAIRY INGREDIENTS

Acidophilus milk
Ammonium Caseinate
Artificial butter flavor
Butter
Butter Fat
Butter Oil
Butter Solids Buttermilk
Calcium caseinate
Casein
Caseinate
Cheese (All)
Condensed Milk
Cottage Cheese
Cream
Curds
Custard
Delactosed
Whey Demineralized Whey
Dry milk powder
Dry milk solids
Evaporated milk
Goat's milk
Half-and-half
Hydrolysates
Hydrolyzed Casein
Hydrolyzed Milk Protein
Iron Caseinate
Lactalbumin
Lactalbumin Phosphate
Lactate
Lactoferrin
Lactoglobulin
Lactose
Lactulose
Magnesium Caseinate
Malted Milk
Milk (whole, lowfat, and skim)
Milk Derivative
Milk Fat
Milk Powder
Milk Protein
Milk Solids
Nougat
Potassium Caseinate
Pudding
Recaldent
Ready Sponge
Rennet Casein
Sodium Caseinate
Sodium Lactylate
Sour Cream
Sour Milk Solids
Sweetened Condensed Milk
Whey
Whey Powder
Whey Protein Concentrate
Protein Hydrolysate
Yogurt (there are many non-dairy yogurts now)
Zinc Caseinate

Quick Start Casein-Free Diet 17 Oct 2008 18:49 #973

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129
SURPRISINGLY DAIRY FREE INGREDIENTS

Calcium Lactate
Calcium Propionate
Calcium Stearoyl
Lactylate
Cocoa Butter
Cocoa Powder
Cream of Tartar
Lactic Acid
Lecithin Oleoresin
Sodium Lactate
Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate

Quick Start Casein-Free Diet 17 Oct 2008 18:53 #974

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129
POTENTIALLY DAIRY INGREDIENTS

Artificial Flavors / Flavoring- Vague ingredient, it may be derived from a dairy product
Brown sugar flavoring- Depends upon the manufacturing process
Caramel Color- Depends upon the manufacturing process
Caramel Flavoring- Depends upon the manufacturing process
Cream Flavoring- Depends upon the manufacturing process
Galactose- Lactose by product, digestible for most, but some may have an intolerance to it
Ghee- Supposedly pure butter fat, no protein or sugars, but it may contain traces
High Protein Flour- Vague ingredient, it may be derived from a dairy product
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein- The processing phase may use casein, only a concern for highly sensitive allergies
Lactic Acid Starter Culture- Different from Lactic Acid, may contain milk
Margarine - Milk proteins are commonly found in most brands
Natural Egg Flavor - Depends upon the manufacturing process
Natural Flavors / Flavoring - Vague ingredient, it may be derived from a dairy product
Protein - The added protein in foods, particularly "high energy" foods, is often milk protein
Fat Replacers - Brands such as Dairy-Lo® and Simplesse® are made with milk protein
Soy Cheese - Typically lactose free, but often contains milk protein
Non-Dairy - This does not mean milk-free, it indicates 1/2% or less milk by weight

Quick Start Casein-Free Diet 09 Jan 2012 12:32 #976

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129
I'd like to know why Coffee mate can say it's a non-dairy creamer  but is not actually dairy-free??? I was having a bad reaction after adding coffee mate to my morning coffee. Then I read the ingredients, and it says it contains casein from dairy!!!

Quick Start Casein-Free Diet 10 Jan 2012 14:28 #975

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129
Funny I was also surprised to understand that a while ago....here's the explanation:

Due to the dairy industry complaint that the consumer was mistaking Coffeemate creamer as real milk/dairy cream they sued Nestle and settled on adding "a Non-Dairy" creamer to the label. They still must add a contains "dairy derivative" after caseinate as part of the food allergy law.

Which is why I always stress: READ THE INGREDIENT LIST
  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.148 seconds