Forgot Password       
×

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
This forum is for women working on the Gluten-Free and or Dairy-Free Diet plan. Registered members only.
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Gluten containing Products & Ingredients to watch for

Gluten containing Products & Ingredients to watch for 02 Oct 2006 19:43 #1170

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129
As you can see by the original date of this list, it is rather old. I still like this list for those living outside of the US who visit this website. If you live in the US, you can be assured (because of our new Gluten-free label law) that any food product labeled GF must not contain more than 20ppm gluten. The only exception to that law are beer and spirits that are regulated by the TTB. Unless a beer is made from gluten-free grains it most likely contains toxic gluten peptides. However distilled spirits made from gluten containing ingredients no longer contain toxic gluten peptides. These heavy proteins cannot make it through the distillation process. Update 1/13/14

Gluten Containing Products and Ingredients to be aware of when reading ingredient lists and labels:

Navigating through gluten free products has just gotten easier in 2006 due to the new food allergy laws making it absolutely necessary for food manufactures to list anything with the eight major foods or food groups--milk, eggs, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans-- account for 90 percent of food allergies; BUT that does not take into consideration rye, barley or cross contaminated oats.

The following products or ingredients contain gluten
Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
Alcohol (Spirits - Specific Types) ALL distilled hard liquor is GF
Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
Barley Hordeum vulgare
Barley Malt
Beer- there are gluten free beers on the market now.
Bleached Flour
Bran
Bread Flour
Brewer's Yeast
Brown Flour
Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
Bulgur Wheat
Cereal Binding
Chilton
Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Couscous
Dextrimaltose
Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate
Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
Farina
Farina Graham
Filler
Flour (normally this is wheat)
Fu (dried wheat gluten)
Germ
Graham Flour
Granary Flour
Groats (barley, wheat)
Hard Wheat
Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Kamut (Pasta wheat)
Malt
Malt Extract
Malt Syrup
Malt Flavoring
Malt Vinegar
Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Matzo Semolina
Mir
Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)
Pasta Pearl Barley
Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)
Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
Rye
Seitan
Semolina
Semolina Triticum
Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Small Spelt
Spirits (Specific Types)
Spelt (Triticum spelta)
Sprouted Wheat or Barley
Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Strong Flour
Suet in Packets
Tabbouleh
Teriyaki Sauce
Textured Vegetable Protein - TVP (includes Textured soy protein)
Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
Triticale X triticosecale
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
Udon (wheat noodles)
Unbleached Flour
Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Vegetable Starch
Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
Wheat Amino Acids
Wheat Bran Extract
Wheat, Bulgur
Wheat Durum Triticum
Wheat Germ Extract
Wheat Germ Glycerides
Wheat Germ Oil
Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
Wheat Nuts
Wheat Protein
Wheat Triticum aestivum
Wheat Triticum Monococcum
Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
Whole-Meal Flour
Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made,
and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

Artificial Flavoring 6 Most all are GF in US

Blue Cheese should be okay if made in US 
Dextrins 1,7 (if manufactured in the US should be made from corn)
Flavoring 6 most are okay if made in US
Food Starch 1, 4 should be okay if made in US
Gravy Cubes 4
Ground Spices 4
Maltodextrin 1, 8 (if manufactured in the US-should be made from corn)
Maltose 4
Miso 4
Modified Food Starch 1, 4 Modified Starch 1, 4
Monosodium Glutimate (MSG) 1, 4 should be gluten-free if made in US but avoid anyway
Natural Flavoring 6 most likely okay if made in US
Shoyu (soy sauce) 4
Smoke Flavoring 4 most are likely GF, check with Manufacture
Soba Noodles 4 -look for pure rice flour (not mixed)
Soy Sauce 4 (make sure it says gluten free)
Starch 1, 4 usually made from corn but should now state on label what it's made from
Stock Cubes 4
Vitamins 4 (see post for gluten free vitamin sources most will have a GF statement on the bottle.
Wheat Starch 5

� 1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free.

� 3) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: "the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet)." Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

� 4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.

� 5) Most celiac organizations in the USA and Canada do not believe that wheat starch is safe for celiacs. In Europe, however, Codex Alimentarius Quality wheat starch is considered acceptable in the celiac diet by most doctors and celiac organizations. This is a higher quality of wheat starch than is generally available in the USA or Canada.

� 6) According to 21 C.F.R. S 101,22(a)(3): "[t]he terns 'natural flavor' or 'natural flavoring' means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof. Whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional."

� 7) Dextrin is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch. It is prepared by dry heating corn, waxy maize, waxy milo, potato, arrowroot, WHEAT, rice, tapioca, or sago starches, or by dry heating the starches after:
(1) Treatment with safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents and
(2) drying the acid or alkali treated starch.
(1) Therefore, unless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin.
May 1997 Sprue-Nik News.
(1) Federal Register (4-1-96 Edition) 21CFR Ch.1, Section 184.12277.
(2) Federal Register (4-1-96) 21 CFR. Ch.1, Section 184.1444

8) Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA, must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2) Donald Kasarda Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch or a gluten-based enzyme in the future. (3) - May 1997 Sprue-Nik News
1. Federal Register (4-1-96) 21 CFR. Ch.1, Section 184.1444
2."Additives Alert", an information sheet from the Greater Philadelphia Celiac Support Group, updated early in 1997. This specific information comes from Nancy Patin Falini, the dietitian advisor for the group and a speaker at a national celiac conferences in the past few years.
3. From the CELLIAC Listserv archives, on the Internet, Donald D. Kasarda, posted November 6, 1996.

Gluten Containing Prod & Ingredients to watch for 13 Jan 2014 16:22 #9698

  • Debra
  • Debra's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • CycleDiet Registered Dietitian
  • Posts: 2416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 129
This is an old list. We now have a 'Gluten-Free label law' in the US. If a product claims to be gluten-free on the label it cannot contain more than 20ppm gluten.
  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.131 seconds